Healthy Teeth and Gums For Life

Oakland, CA

10004_15.jpg
10005_15.jpg

Laurel Smile Dentistry Testimonials

Read What Our Customers Are Saying:

I am not a very easily pleased person, especially when it comes to my mouth. I have seen a number of dentists, and they all wanted to sell me something I did not need. Then I met Dr. Sibhatu. He was different. He listened to me, and only recommended what I really needed. This meant the world to me. He is a kind person and a down to earth overall good and nice guy. I cannot say enough about Dr. Sibhatu, as a person and a dentist. Thanks Dr. Sibhatu for bringing back the smile I never had for a long time. You are the best!Your office staff couldn't be any nicer. You are all terrific! I will always remember how nice and caring all of you have been to me. My wholehearted recommendation of you Dr. Sibhatu. You have obviously chosen the right profession. Keep up the Good work!

 

-Faye, Oakland

No one looks forward to going to the dentist, it's generally viewed at best as a painful necessity and at worst as completely terrifying. I used to feel that way. And then I started seeing Dr. Sibhatu at Laurel Smiles Dentistry and my view of dentists was completely changed. Everyone in the office is so friendly and considerate. They genuinely care, not only about my teeth, but about my being comfortable as well. It is such a pleasant surprise to feel such personalized care! Dr. Sibhatu has completely taken away my fear of the dentist. He is an expert at his craft and determined to provide the best possible care to all of his patients. I never thought that a dentist's office would be something I would feel so strongly about, but I find myself recommending Laurel Smiles over and over to all my friends! It is truly dentistry at a higher level!

 

-Becky Wolf

There is something really special about Dr. Sibhatu. To be honest, it wouldn't be fair to just describe in words. All you need to do is to just go schedule a visit and see for yourself. It is extremely difficult to find a good dentist. Dr. Sibhatu provided me the BEST dental experience that I've ever had! He is patient, gentle, and understanding. From my opinion, he goes one step beyond what most dentists have to offer. I felt a little embarrassed when I had a list of questions to ask him during our initial consultation appointment. He didn't mind at all, in fact, he educated me and offered me even more options to help me.

 

-J Leung

Please don't hesitate further. I recommend Dr. Sibhatu most enthusiastically for all your dental needs and concerns.


-Deborah Sharpe

in the last week-

The staff is always friendly, professional and courteous. They seem genuinely glad to see me when I come for an appointment. I have had a positive experience every time and I have been going to Laurel Smile for over three years now.

 

-James Tracy

3 weeks ago-

Really professional, thorough and friendly. I appreciated how they carefully went over costs associated with the procedures. My mouth feels great. This is definitely my new dentist.

 

-Nancy Read

a month ago-

I am really picky about my dental care. I love everything about this dental practice. I love how responsive they are, that I can get appointment times that are convenient to me, that I can do all of my transactions online, how friendly and professional they are...oh and the quality of care is superb!

 

-Joshua Johnson

4 months ago-

Been getting my cleanings here for a couple years with no complaints. Just had my first filling in 5 years and it went smoothly. Working with them on possibly getting braces. I like that they take the time to explain the situation in a way ...MoreBeen getting my cleanings here for a couple years with no complaints. Just had my first filling in 5 years and it went smoothly. Working with them on possibly getting braces. I like that they take the time to explain the situation in a way I understand so I can make an informed decision. They've also kept me on track with what brushing habits are going well and which need to be improved. My last two visits have been "exemplary" because of this (the cavity, if you were wondering, was a long time coming; hovering on the cusp of should-it-be-drilled).

 

-Elias Negash

a month ago-

Excellent staff, and amazing dentist. I always recommend to friends or people I know if they need a good dentist. Laurel Smile Dentistry is the place to go.

-Di'Shea Richardson

a month ago-

Everyone in the office is really nice! They have your best dental care interest at heart and they're always on time

 

-Heaven Habte

2 months ago-

Very friendly and professional staff. Satisfied with my experience at laurel smile dentistry. I definitely recommend this for everyone

 

-Tesfaye Beyene

3 weeks ago-

I have been going to Laurel Smile Dentistry more than four years now:
I am so happy and satisfied withe their services and professionalism.
Dr. Sibhatu is very knolligable in all aspect of dental issues, he is so ...MoreI have been going to Laurel Smile Dentistry more than four years now:
I am so happy and satisfied with their services and professionalism.
Dr. Sibhatu is very knowledgeable in all aspect of dental issues, he is so helpful, he is highly regarded professional and at the same time he is friendly.
The entire stuff who work at the office are; very professional, friendly, they treated you like family. Every time I visit whether for regular cleaning, General exam or any treatment they treat me like I am VIP.
Most off all they are very good in communicating clearly, explain things you need to do, flexible scheduling; they are even open Saturday's and late until 7pm on a regular days.
It is very rare to find dentist who you can trust. Can accommodate you for any need you have, but this place is great for everyone who need dental work.
I highly recommend this place for anyone who need dental work.
Thank you for good work

 

-Frezer Emhatsion

2 months ago-

I gave them 5 stars because It is the best place to get any kind of tooth treatment with the most amazing welcoming and caring staff. I definitely recommend this place to anyone.

 

-Nicole Michel

4 months ago-

Love Laurel Smile Dentistry! The dentist has a soft touch (didn't feel a thing), and the staff are all very nice. The office has a very relaxing vibe. I highly recommend it!

 

-Peg ONeill

9 months ago-

I chose Laurel Smile Dentistry because it is close to home. I was happy to find it a bright, clean environment with friendly, efficient professionals from front office to treatment room. Everyone did their utmost to make me comfortable. ...MoreI chose Laurel Smile Dentistry because it is close to home. I was happy to find it a bright, clean environment with friendly, efficient professionals from front office to treatment room. Everyone did their utmost to make me comfortable.

My check-up, x-rays, and cleaning with Dr. Solomon and her assistant Sonia were all painless. Dr. Solomon quickly identified a problem which has been bothering me for years. They used a camera to photograph my teeth, so I could see them, as the doctor explained. Other equipment seemed modern and up-to-date in comparison to some past dentists I used.

When I returned to have more work done, I was greeted by name without having to stand in line or sign in.

I can definitely recommend this dental practice to others.

 

-Banait Habteab

7 months ago-

Laurel Smile is a great office that provides a welcoming, warm service to all customers, new or old, while also giving every individual personal customer - business relationship. I needed an urgent appointment while in the Bay Area for the ...MoreLaurel Smile is a great office that provides a welcoming, warm service to all customers, new or old, while also giving every individual personal customer - business relationship. I needed an urgent appointment while in the Bay Area for the summer and they helped book me an appointment despite Dr Sibhatus busy schedule. I am grateful for all the staff for making me feel comfortable and handling my case with ease.

 

-Ambar Merino

4 months ago-

Great experience. I like that they were on time and not too much waiting. I will be back again.

 

-Semhar Beyene

5 months ago-

I'm never write review in Google and Yelp before but today I decide to be a witness because he deserved to know everyone in this world and choice him . Dr. Mussie is a dental genius . .I used to hate going to dentists but it's actually ...MoreI'm never write review in Google and Yelp before but today I decide to be a witness because he deserved to know everyone in this world and choice him. Dr. Mussie is a dental genius. .I used to hate going to dentists but it's actually a pleasure going to Dr. Mussie's. His attention to detail and precision in more severe dental matters that makes me want to recommend others. He's so polity, nice and wise business person and I never see like this wiseness in My life. He has a very clean facility and his staff members are efficient and caring. His practice is very friendly. Truest me if you visit to Laurel Smile Dentistry I'm 100% guaranty will happy you guys. May Lord bless more and more.

 

-Kibrom Habteab

7 months ago-

Laurel Smile staff were very professional and very understand of my emergency situation. Furthermore, they clearly provide a full insight of the options they had to offer. Dr Sibhatu in particular took personal care of me and is a great guy.

 

-Sefanit Tades

 a month ago-

Amazing staff, & top-shelf service!

 

-Elsabet H.J

 a year ago-

I am beyond grateful to the amazing staff at Laurel Smile Dentistry for taking good care of my elderly father. From the time he walked into the office and greeted warmly, he felt comfortable. Thank you Dr. Sibhatu for doing excellent ...MoreI am beyond grateful to the amazing staff at Laurel Smile Dentistry for taking good care of my elderly father. From the time he walked into the office and greeted warmly, he felt comfortable. Thank you Dr. Sibhatu for doing excellent bridge work on my father's front teeth. The results are simply astonishing! My

family and I sincerely thank you for meeting his needs and giving him back his confidence. He is defiantly happy and smiling a lot more. Thank you again!

 

-Elizabeth Pimentel-Gopal

8 months ago-

My husband and I fell very lucky to have moved walking distance to Laurel Dentistry. We've been getting our dental cleaning services twice a year for the past couple of years. The staff is knowledgable, kind, and willing to help. When I ...MoreMy husband and I fell very lucky to have moved walking distance to Laurel Dentistry. We've been getting our dental cleaning services twice a year for the past couple of years. The staff is knowledgeable, kind, and willing to help. When I first moved to the Laurel District, I was suffering from TMJ pain; past dentist was not able to help, Kaiser..Not really; however, Dr. Sibhatu explained thoroughly what caused the pain and how he could help. Extremely grateful for his guidance given that I had been in pain for over 8 months. Other services; 100% happy :-)    

 

-Daniel C.

11/3/2016 - 5 Stars

Professional and friendly staff, clean facilities and accommodating attitudes. Definitely one of the better Dentist office experiences I've ever had. Dr. Mussie is excellent and so is Esther, the Hygienist that I use. Can't say enough about this practice, you won't be disappointed!

 

-Tracy S.

5 Stars

This is hands down the best dentist office my wife and I have been to. The staff are friendly and helpful. Dr Mussie is a kind man, yet extremely professional and thorough in his exams. If you are looking for a doctor that WILL take the time to explain things to you and not rush you so he can see another patient, then you have found the man.
I was pleased and relaxed talking to him as he explained everything to me.

Will be sending my brother and friends.

Very pleased... :)))  
A++++++

 

-Angela K.

 2/3/2017- 5 Stars

I've been to few different facilities to find a perfect fit for me and I think I found one. Dr. Mussie goes over every little details on your teeth, gums and procedures. I like how he doesn’t rush anything and is very patient and also listens to you with open ears so you can tell he is trust worthy and truly cares for his patients. I only paid $99 and received full mouth x-ray and spectacular cleaning done by Cynthia. Cynthia is the coolest i hated going to dentist but she made it seem so easy and i almost fell asleep during the procedure. She did FANTASTIC JOB. She really takes her time and effort and her work is 10 out of 10!! Oh and u get a little goodie bag after ur cleaning too hehe its so cute and thoughtful of them :)
Over all, front desk ladies and other staffs were super helpful and Christine gave me two gift cards for friends and family members ! If you’re looking for a dentist i highly recommend this place and you won’t regret it.

 

-Kristopher K.

1/4/2017 - 5 Stars

The dentists are extremely helpful and really care about their patients. I love how they want to get you involved in what is really wrong with your teeth, and want you to be a big part of the solution. Great people, and an incredible place. Definitely recommend.

 

-Heaven Y.

12/21/2016  - 5 STARS

Very friendly and professional staff I can't say enough I definitely recommend laurel smile dentistry for everyone.

 

-Jessica G.

11/23/2016 - 5 Stars

Day before Thanksgiving. I needed an emergency filling replacement as a big chunk of my filing popped out, leaving a deep gaping hole nearly down to the pulp exposed. Laurel Smile was the ONLY place in Oakland that would see me today, after calling several highly-rated places. Despite being busy, and despite it being the evening before a big holiday weekend, they managed to fit me in and were very kind throughout the whole process, even though I was freaking out about getting it done and worried about the cost. Dr. Sibhatu was very gentle and patient with me as well... there was very little pain involved and that was only while waiting to be numbed. While he could have easily given me a temporary fix and charged me extra to come back next week, he chose to stay late and do the actual filling on the spot to save me time and money. I plan on making them my long term dental office!

 

-Laron G.

1/18/2017 - 5 Stars

Laurel Smile Dentistry always offers the most efficient dental care. Along with their excellent dentistry, Laurel Smile exudes professionalism in a cheerful environment. I have been a patient here for a few years, and I've noticed remarkable improvement as well as a boost in confidence in my smile. I highly recommend Laurel Smile Dentistry to any person who is searching for a friendly domain at affordable cost that offers the best dental care.

 

-Ameleah C.

10/11/2016 - 5 Stars

Everyone at Laurel Smile Dentistry is great! I've had positive experiences with both Dr. Sibhatu and Dr. Solomon. Esther is as gentle as you could ever hope your hygienist would be. They're super organized and the office is always welcoming. Even though the rates are a bit outside of my insurance's coverage, it is worth it to have the peace of mind that folks will take care of you. I highly recommend Laurel Smile!

 

-Shan Shan L.

10/11/2016 - 5 Stars

Love my hygienist Esther! She is thorough and gentle, I was never scared of my bi-annual dental cleaning under her care.

 

-Nikki W.

10/11/2016 - 5 Stars

Everyone at Laurel Smile Dentistry is great! I've had positive experiences with both Dr. Sibhatu and Dr. Solomon. Esther is as gentle as you could ever hope your hygienist would be. They're super organized and the office is always welcoming. Even though the rates are a bit outside of my insurance's coverage, it is worth it to have the peace of mind that folks will take care of you. I highly recommend Laurel Smile!

 

-Marco M.

5/19/2016 - 5 Stars

Haven’t had any major work done yet, but I had my initial cleaning and exam done...and compared to my last dentist experience (which was nightmarish), this was a night and day experience.

While I saw one male on staff, it's primarily ladies operating the business, and they're all very very sweet and helpful, pleasant to work with, and have impeccable bedside manner. I have crazy dental anxiety, so anytime I can be made to feel so at ease is a huge bonus...plus, when discussing various treatments, they had a number of solutions to deal with patients like myself who experience anxiety around dental procedures.

I'll definitely be giving them more of my business if things remain this easy to deal with. If you're shopping for a new dentist and in the area, I'd definitely suggest checking them out.

 

-Kibrom T.

7/24/2016 - 5 Stars

I went to Laurel Smile having recommended by family friends. I was simply looking for a checkup given my teeth were slightly hurting from now and then. I was pleasantly greeted by the staff and Dr Sibhatu himself was great and made me feel at home. The service was very professional, I had a clear understand of the procedure he was undertaken and had great advice in terms of treatment I will need to undertake (all four molars need to be taken out !!).

Overall very satisfied :)

 

-U.J.

5/11/2016 

This team is truly the best!  The staff are very professional and friendly.  They make you feel welcome every time.

They are thorough on their explanation on what the procedure is going to entail and make you feel comfortable every time you're in the chair.  I just had a deep cleaning and it was the best deep cleaning experience I've had!  Deep cleaning with other dentist providers have been exactly the opposite.  Whew!  Who knew?

One last thing I would like to point out, is that they are understanding and worked with me on  the late fee charge for missing my appointment due to having the stomach flu the day of one of my appointments which made it impossible for me to leave my house, let alone my bed.

I would highly encourage you to check them out because they are simply the best from all my other previous dentists!

 

-AL B.

10/20/2016 - 5 Stars

It's always a joy to visit laurel smile dentistry and the friendly staff and also chit chat with dr sibahtu and to us is like talking to a family mentor were very grateful and we love you all.

 

-MISH S.

9/25/2015 - 5 Stars

In the past I have been to different dentist until I came to know about laurel smile Dr Sibhatu. I like how professional everyone are from the doctor to the receptionist is. Dr Sibhatu listens to what you have to say and how he can help you with the require service. Compare to other dentist’s places who only make you wait and does what they think is without your opinion. I like Dr Sibhatu and staff are friendly and are there to help you with what you expect and want. I would recommend this place for anyone who wants good dentist and best services.
I finally got my braces done today. They also made sure how I was doing during the process of braces and was finished without any pain. I am happy with the service I received and would recommend my family and friends to visit Laurel smile Dr Sibhatu for any dental work. Thank you one again.

 

-Nicole M.

10/13/2016 - 5 Stars

I've moved around a lot so I've visited a lot of different dentists over the years, and Laurel Smile Dentistry gives hands down the best dental care I've ever experienced. The dentist, hygienists and receptionists are all very friendly and nice. The dentist has a soft touch - this is the first time I haven't felt any pain during or after getting a filling. I highly recommend them!

 

-Jake T.

8/9/2016

Really attentive and detail oriented. Explained lots of nuances of teeth care to me. The visit was very collaborative as she went through every step. They act as an advocate for your teeth and giving you the best knowledge to take care of them.

 

-Elizabeth P

6/13/2016 - 5 Stars

My husband and I fell very lucky to have moved walking distance to Laurel Dentistry. We've been getting our dental cleaning services twice a year for the past couple of years. The staff is knowledgeable, kind, and willing to help. When I first moved to the Laurel District, I was suffering from TMJ pain; past dentist was not able to help, Kaiser. Not really; however, Dr. Sibhatu explained thoroughly what caused the pain and how he could help. Extremely grateful for his guidance given that i had been in pain for over 8 months. Other services; 100% happy :-)

 

-Jennifer G.

6/6/2016 - 5 Stars

This place is awesome. They are thorough without trying to milk you for unnecessary treatment, cleanings, or procedures. I bring my three year old and have her on my lap while she's watching the dentist in my mouth. She's fascinated and is excited about the whole event- even when it's her turn. The ladies in the office also watch after her when the thrill of watching mommy's teeth is gone. The office is modern and clean. They offer free kerig coffee with good creamer and trivia.... a very nice touch. Parking is a little tight but off MacArthur there is plenty side street parking. Just watch the signs. Also, confirm all work with the desk so they can check what is covered by your insurance before the work is done so there are no surprises. They work with many insurances and they all cover different things. I highly recommend this place for all dental needs.

 

-Cheryl Z.

5/26/2016 - 5 Stars

Great team at Laurel Smile Dentistry.  Dr. Sibhatu & Ramika are terrific as is the rest of the team.  Actually had Dr. Sibhatu suggest not pursuing a more costly approach with my partial - when does that happen?  

Follow through, review of insurance coverage, what was not covered all prior to procedure.  

Thank you!

 

-Donna M.

2/2/2016 - 5 Stars

Flawless experience.  Friendly front desk staff, friendly and gentle dental assistants.  Dr. Sibhatu is kind and takes time to answer all my questions.

Photos

Welcome to Laurel Smile Dentistry!

At Laurel Smile Dentistry, we believe that a doctor and patient become a team for treating an individual's dental needs. Our dentist spends most of his time listening to understand your concerns and responding with the best treatment options for you. With the help of our professional staff, they also follow up to make sure that general pain is relieved, problems are resolved and your health improves.